Story Shifts: Using Personal and Collective Narratives to Co-Create

Home/Story Shifts: Using Personal and Collective Narratives to Co-Create
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

May 25th – Story Shifts: Using Personal and Collective Narratives to Co-Create

12:00 PM PT/ 3:00 PM ET/ 8:00 PM UTC

Host: Rhonda Baird

Join Rhonda for a participatory workshop on creating our stories. Our understanding, beliefs, and collective views form into a narrative, which in turn focuses our energy, decision-making, and ultimately shapes our worlds. Discovering the foundations of our own tale helps us identify our best gifts and make appropriate contributions to collective efforts. Understanding a group’s narrative supports us in finding the correct strategies to effect change and co-create. We will explore how to shift stories for ourselves and others in our (permaculture) work—cultivating a sense of the possible.

Register here.

Host Bio:

Rhonda Baird has spent twenty years organizing and community-building following important questions. This journey led her through academics, community organizing in urban neighborhoods, domestic violence, homelessness, and forest protection. She founded Sheltering Hills Design, LLC, a permaculture design and education organization, in 2008—three years after she began her permaculture teaching apprenticeship with Peter Bane. She joined Permaculture Design magazine, formerly Permaculture Activist, in 2009 and is now the Senior Editor. Great Rivers and Lakes Permaculture Institute, which serves as a regional hub for the Permaculture Institute of North America, has been an opportunity to co-create with colleagues in a six-state partnership. In 2016 she was awarded her diplomas in Permaculture Education and Permaculture Design. Her latest project is a community-run agroforestry group to establish forests on public and private lands in her Bloomington, Indiana region.

Register here.